Michigan Signers of Norquest Pledge Released by ATR

The Americans for Tax Reform have released those current office holders and canidates in Michigan who have signed the Norquest Pledge. Signers of this pledge promises to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rate for individuals and business; and to oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”

While the goal is laudable, the signers of the Norquest pledge face serious questions on who they are representing: a Washington insider lobbyist group or their constituents.


MI-01 Daniel Joseph "Dan" Benishek Daniel Joseph “Dan” Benishek (R) (born April 20, 1952) is an American physician and politician who has been the U.S. Representative for Michigan’s 1st congressional district since January 2011. Benishek faces re-election against Gary McDowell in the 2012 election. A September 20, 2012 Public Policy Polling poll shows the race as a statistical dead heat, with McDowell leading Benishek 44% to 42%.

MI-02 William P. Huizenga (born January 31, 1969) is the member of Congress for Michigan’s 2nd congressional district. He is a member of William P. Huizenga the Republican Party. He previously served in the Michigan House of Representatives. Huizenga has served as his church’s representative to Michigan Right to Life for the last 9 years. Huizenga has been endorsed for the 2010 general election by a number of groups including the Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce, Michigan Chamber of Commerce, The NRA, NFIB, Right to Life, FRC, The National Association of Realtors, The Young Guns Vanguard and the Michigan Farm Bureau.

MI-03 Justin Amash (R)

MI-04 Dave Camp (R)

MI-06 Fred Upton (R)

MI-07 Tim Walberg (R)

MI-08 Michael J. “Mike” Rogers (born June 2, 1963) is the U.S. Representative for Michigan’s 8th congressional district, serving since 2001. He is a Michael J. "Mike" Rogers member of the Republican Party and Chairman of the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. Rogers introduced the bipartisan Asian Carp Prevention Act of 2012 with six other members of the Michigan delegation to ensure that the necessary precautions are in place to stop Asian carp from entering the Great Lakes.

MI-10 Candice Miller (R)

MI-11 Thad McCotter (R)


Scotty Boman (SEN)

Clark Durant (SEN)

Gary Glenn (SEN)

Randy Heckman (SEN)

Peter Hoekstra (SEN)

Jack Hoogendyk (MI-06)

Mike Kowall (MI-11)

Nancy Cassis (MI-11)

Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11)


2 thoughts on “Michigan Signers of Norquest Pledge Released by ATR”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s